A great day but no large blues

It was another great summer’s day up on Collard Hill, although try as I might I couldn’t find any large blues! It was a reasonably cloudy day however, so any stragglers might have been hiding away waiting for some sun.
Other butterflies are on the up however, gatekeepers have boomed in the past couple of days, the ringlets are still numerous and fresh second brood common blue and brown argus butterflies are everywhere. I keep checking the small skippers on the off chance one will be an Essex skipper, but so far all I’ve seen have been small! Large skippers are still around too, and occasionally stop briefly for photographs.

DSC_7393a

Large Skipper © India Wedge

It has been a great experience being able to spend so much time on Collard, it’s been a privilege to be able to observe and photograph the large blues, and I’ll definitely have to come back in future years to see these wonderful butterflies again. It’s hard to choose favourites but the large blue has to be nearing becoming my favourite UK butterfly!

DSC_8144a

Large blue resting out of the heat © India Wedge

 

2 thoughts on “A great day but no large blues

    • I’m sorry to say I had no idea it was something to look out for – my botany skills definitely need work! I’ll be looking for it tomorrow for sure, hopefully I can find it!
      India

Leave a comment