Welcome!

Hello, fellow butterfly enthusiasts,

I’d like to quickly introduce myself as the new Large Blue volunteer ranger for 2017. My name is Gabrielle and I’ve just finished my Ecology degree at the University of Sussex. I’ve been lucky enough to get the chance to monitor the Large Blues at the beautiful Collard Hill this summer and I look forward to learning more about everything this site has to offer, from butterflies to birds to wild flowers… and more!

18985405_1348674681852365_1912674878_n

My role as the new volunteer ranger is to carry out regular butterfly transects around the site to monitor the Large Blue population, but I will also be more than happy to answer any questions and guide visitors around throughout my post. I look forward very much to meeting and learning from you all and shall be on- site Wednesdays to Sundays for the next five weeks (there will also be other lovely volunteers present Monday- Tuesday to cover my days off).

This blog will be updated often to keep you all in the know about news of the Large Blue butterflies and photos of some of the many other extraordinary butterflies and species we have here. Having said that, I’m happy to announce that today we had a gorgeous sunny (but windy!) day here at Collard and recorded the first Large Blue of the season, photo below.

img_4582.png

2017’s first Large Blue!

The forecast is quite mixed for the rest of the week but tomorrow it’s looking dry from noon, so I’ll be keeping a very keen eye out in the hope of reporting many more sightings. Make sure you check the forecast for Street, Somerset before you head over.

For now, here are just a few images of the amazing wildlife we have here:

IMG_4293

Can anyone identify this beetle? *EDIT*: Thank you, it’s a Cockchafer, or ‘May bug’.

IMG_4338

Female Common Blue

19021527_1348674741852359_1499959807_n

Large Blues pairing at a nearby site

19073690_1348674821852351_393119336_n

Large skipper

img_4354.jpg

Bee orchid

Until tomorrow!

Gabrielle

7 thoughts on “Welcome!

  1. Weird. Only yesterday I was googling to see if there would be a Large Blue blog this year.
    The beetle is a cockchafer (or maybug).

  2. The unknown beetle is a Common Cockchafer (Melolontha melolontha), also known as the May Bug because they generally appear in May. I hope you enjoy your stint as Warden and look forward to meeting you in the near future.

  3. Welcome gabrielle. I hope to visit and see if my new knee can cope wth the slop. Had great visits and pics in previous years

Leave a Reply

