Large Blue Report – 22nd June – A Very Successful Open Day

Just a quick one today as I don’t have much time to do a proper post with bells, whistles and pictures 😦

Today’s open day went really well, with over 100 visitors chancing their luck at seeing Collard’s star of the show. I am willing to say, with confidence, that almost everybody who came today managed to catch at least a glimpse of a Large Blue.

The general success rate of the day was largely down to this one highly immobile female, who really drew in the big crowds.
Sightings stayed around the same amount as usual today, around 10-12. Once again the vast majority of sightings were individuals who weren’t on the wing, a few laying females and very few males.

It’s still very much too early to tell which way the numbers are going, but my gut instincts tell me we might just see them rise yet, but don’t hold me to that!

Tuesday I’ll have time for a nice proper review of the trends over the next few days with pictures I’ve taken myself as well as those of all the kind folks have sent in πŸ˜€

Stay tuned!
Thanks for reading!

Jono, The Large Blue Ranger.

Leave a Reply

