Not such a good day for those that Fly.

As always, the British weather certainly does stir things up a bit! Today I joined Lottie on the Hill. I was really looking forward to it as I was hoping to get a glimpse of a)A Large Blue and b)the Small elephant Hawksmoth that Lottie saw yesterday.

Over in the distance, the clouds began to lower but it stayed reasonably dry and not windy all morning. I did my first survey with Lottie at 11am and saw a couple of small heaths and plenty of Meadow Browns – but know Blues 😦

In the afternoon, I managed to get the second survey complete before the weather really did set in and the rain began.

A really nice day getting to know the ins and outs of Collard Hill. I will be on the hill again on the 17th June for the Open Day.

Hayley – Ranger for the Mendip and Polden Hills

 

Leave a Reply

