Monday 5th July

Female Large Blue in the Quarry - Sarah Meredith

Morning all,

Monday saw calm on Collard Hill compared to Sunday, a breeze was blowing but the sun was shining so there was warmth to it which was missing on  Sunday. As Large Blue numbers are low I decided to have a detailed look around the site at all other things present as well as keeping an eye out for Large Blue’s. I headed slowly towards the quarry, knowing that is now where the last few Large Blue’s are.

Marbled Whites continue to fly well, flowering Thistles grabbed my attention, I enjoy macro photography and stopped for a brief while to capture  the full glory of the Thistles. As I entered the quarry a huge number of Marbled White’s, Meadow Brown’s and Ringlets were flying around and basking in the sun. A large Skipper was sunning himself on the Bramble, initially I couldn’t find any Large Blue’s but then hang on what was that, oh yes, morning Large Blue. I find myself talking them and always greeting the first one I see of the day. Then there were 2 fighting and then zooming off in opposite directions. It is great to see them still on the wing even if they are looking slightly worn.

Large Blue in the Quarry - Sarah Meredith 5th July 2010

With the knowledge that egg numbers seem very high I am starting to accept that the season is nearly over and finding caterpillars shows me that the next generation is well on its way.  On the morning transect I recorded 4 individuals and this was the same in the afternoon.

During the time between transects I had a little search of the Ragwort to see if any Cinnabar moth caterpillars were present, but as is normal when you are actively looking for something you cannot find it, it was only when I was carrying out the afternoon transect that I stumbled across one!!

Cinnabar moth caterpillar (Tigger) - Sarah Meredith

After finding one all the rest of them suddenly appeared, I wondered how I managed to miss them earlier!!

Large Blue’s are still on the wing in low numbers and most are looking worn, but it is great to still see them.

This entry was posted in 2010 Season by largebluewarden. Bookmark the permalink.

About largebluewarden

I am the Large Blue warden for Collard Hill, and will be on site Wednesday through to Sunday with other volunteers. I graduated in December 2009 from Reading University, with an MSc in Wildlife Management and Conservation. Before coming to Glastonbury to work with the Large Blue, I was carrying out research into the Glanville Fritillary on the Isle of Wight. While my thesis for my Msc was looking at ‘The habitat requirements of the Small Heath Coenonympha pamphilus in the uplands’. Butterflies and photography are my passion and I am looking forward to a great flight season on Collard Hill and hope to meet many of you who are reading this blog.

Leave a Reply

