Tuesday 22nd June

Heath Fritillary (Haddon Hill) - Sarah Meredith

Evening all,

Today saw me away from the hill (on a day off), I swapped the Large Blue’s for Heath Fritillary’s, the Polden Hills for Exmoor but took the heat with me!! I left Collard Hill and the Large Blue’s in the safe hands of Dudley and Simone, although I was wondering how numbers were doing and whether visitors were getting sightings!

I went to Haddon Hill on the recommendation of many visitors who had either been or were going. Seeing as it was close enough to do in a day I thought why not. It was a species I hadn’t seen before so I was excited about seeing them and see them I did, initially I found a few individuals but then found the stong hold area within the bracken with big patches of Cow Wheat. I saw around 15 – 20 individuals so went away very happy. I had to get my eye in though looking for orange rather than blue!!!

Anyway enough of my day, after a few text messages it sounds like Collard Hill was quieter today on the Large Blue front, the daily transects picked up 9 individuals compared with the 23 yesterday. But this might be due to heat as the afternoon transect might have been in the middle of their siesta!!  Numbers should still be high as we are in the middle of the peak. I will know more tomorrow when I get back onto site.

If you visit Collard Hill over the next few days you will not be disappointed, the Large Blue is flying well over the whole site.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by largebluewarden. Bookmark the permalink.

About largebluewarden

I am the Large Blue warden for Collard Hill, and will be on site Wednesday through to Sunday with other volunteers. I graduated in December 2009 from Reading University, with an MSc in Wildlife Management and Conservation. Before coming to Glastonbury to work with the Large Blue, I was carrying out research into the Glanville Fritillary on the Isle of Wight. While my thesis for my Msc was looking at ‘The habitat requirements of the Small Heath Coenonympha pamphilus in the uplands’. Butterflies and photography are my passion and I am looking forward to a great flight season on Collard Hill and hope to meet many of you who are reading this blog.

Leave a Reply

