Thursday 17th June

Large Blue perching on grass – Sarah Meredith

Evening all, 

Today was a very hot day and now as I write this blog I am collapsed on the sofa feeling very tired but very happy. Some one said to me today ‘oh have you drawn the short straw this year!’ My response was no I have drawn the long straw, I am as happy as a pig in mud!!! This is the truth. 

As I arrived on site at 8.45am there were no clouds to be seen at all, the sky was blue and the sun was already shining. The breeze was cool to start but the wind was calmer than previous days. After putting out the interpretation and applying sun cream I walked onto the eastern slope aware that there were a couple of people on site already, but as I looked across the slopes I saw 9 anxious and expectant faces looking around. 

At that moment I could feel the pressure that is on the little butterflies wings, no wonder they get stage fright, become camera shy and don’t want to expose themselves.Who can blame them?

 But once again the Large Blue’s didn’t disappoint, as yesterday there was not much on the wing until 10am and then the hillside came alive with Large Blue’s. One Large Blue flew from Wild Thyme to the end of visitors walking stick and stayed there for a few moments.

 

The Large Blue’s were preferring the top of the hillside and using the little pockets of grass and Wild Thyme along the main track. 

Visitors enjoying the site – Sarah Meredith

Most people were getting sightings of over 6 individuals and as the heat increased most people decided that it was most rewarding if they stayed in once place and waited. 

Marbled White’s are flying in numbers now, as are Small Tortoiseshell’s and Painted Lady’s. 

Marbled White – Sarah Meredith

  

Painted Lady - Sarah Meredith

 

Large Blue’s are flying well and numbers being seen are increasing and although they are not being cooperative on opening their wings, all visitors are getting sightings and lots of pictures of underwings.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by largebluewarden. Bookmark the permalink.

About largebluewarden

I am the Large Blue warden for Collard Hill, and will be on site Wednesday through to Sunday with other volunteers. I graduated in December 2009 from Reading University, with an MSc in Wildlife Management and Conservation. Before coming to Glastonbury to work with the Large Blue, I was carrying out research into the Glanville Fritillary on the Isle of Wight. While my thesis for my Msc was looking at ‘The habitat requirements of the Small Heath Coenonympha pamphilus in the uplands’. Butterflies and photography are my passion and I am looking forward to a great flight season on Collard Hill and hope to meet many of you who are reading this blog.

One thought on “Thursday 17th June

  1. “Large Blue’s are flying well and numbers being seen are increasing and although they are not being cooperative on opening their wings, all visitors are getting sightings and lots of pictures of underwings.”

    I think you need a relatively-cool day with intermittent sunshine.

    Anyway – excellent blog, Sarah!

    – Pete (Eeles)

Leave a Reply

