Tuesday 15th June

Large Blue on Milkwort - Sarah Meredith

Today I was away from the hill again, but  I was working with National Trust wardens who look after the Mendips learning how to use a strimmer and looking at butterfly habitats at Sand Point. I had a really good day, but I am starting to get attached to my butterflies and part of me was wondering how they were doing and how many were emerging today.

A phone call to the hill let me know that Large Blue’s were flying but not in the numbers of yesterday. The wind was still strong on the top of the hill but the normal sheltered areas were warm. 15 individuals were witnessed today and the first mating pair were seen so things are progressing in the season.

I am back on the hill tomorrow so will have the full picture of the goings on and the number of Large Blue on the wing. Hopefully there will have been another increase in numbers and I really want to witness mating pairs and females egg laying. I hope to find eggs soon and be able to show any of you visiting Collard Hill.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by largebluewarden. Bookmark the permalink.

About largebluewarden

I am the Large Blue warden for Collard Hill, and will be on site Wednesday through to Sunday with other volunteers. I graduated in December 2009 from Reading University, with an MSc in Wildlife Management and Conservation. Before coming to Glastonbury to work with the Large Blue, I was carrying out research into the Glanville Fritillary on the Isle of Wight. While my thesis for my Msc was looking at ‘The habitat requirements of the Small Heath Coenonympha pamphilus in the uplands’. Butterflies and photography are my passion and I am looking forward to a great flight season on Collard Hill and hope to meet many of you who are reading this blog.

Leave a Reply

