Friday 2nd July

Evening all,

Well I have internet via a dongle, which means slow speeds!! Oh well I am sure we rush around too much anyway. Apologies for lack of  photos though, I think trying to upload them would just make things crash!!

The site is feeling very quiet now as Large Blue numbers decline, I am so used to seeing them whizzing past that I start to panic when I don’t  see one, but I have to remind myself that we are nearing the end of the flight season. It seems sad that such a lovely species only lasts a month on the wing. I have grown very attached them, they have found a place in heart as Small Heath’s did last summer.

Numbers have decreased very rapidly, from recording 12 on a transect on Tuesday I am now lucky to record 4, the weather was variable today with the rain stopping around 8.30am and the sun appearing around 10am, the sun stayed over Collard Hill until 4.30pm giving the remaining Large Blue’s plenty of time to nectar and egg lay. Females were witnessed egg laying today, which is a positive.

During the quiet spells I carried out some more egg counts and managed to see a few caterpillars which blend in so well with the Thyme flowers, the only reason I knew they were present to start with was the presence of frass (caterpillar poo!!) and feeding damage signs. I am definitely getting my eye in now for eggs but  I still get that WOW feeling when ever I find one. I don’t think that feeling ever passes really and it is the same for seeing the adults.

Marbled Whites are still flying in large numbers as are Ringlets. We think that individual Large Blue’s will still be around until the 6th July but I must stress that that is individuals not numbers. The main season is really over now, we are back to searching the site to find ones or twos as we were when they were first emerging. But even seeing one Large Blue is a wonder and a treat so I will carry on searching until I am sure they have finished.

One thought on “Friday 2nd July

  1. Hi Sarah,

    great blog,I wish I’d found it before our visit – we might have come earlier in June. Some of the photos taken by me on July 3rd are now on Flickr – http://www.flickr.com/photos/davecgray/sets/72157624290289953/

    Dave.

Leave a Reply

