Wednesday 23th June

Egg Laying Female with open wings - Sarah Meredith June 2010

Evening all,

I went onto the hill with slight trepidation after yesterdays transect results. I was sure in my mind that numbers had really dropped that much but you can never really tell. On arrival I went quickly to inspect the western slope around the gorse patches, this has been a good area early in the mornings, and sure enough I found 3 individuals in quick succession. I then headed to the easter slope and as soon as I hit the path I found another two.

Aaahh I sighed, all is well and the smile crossed my face and stayed!! It was great to be back on site, Collard Hill has a very relaxing feel about it. I am not sure if it is the panoramic views, the wildlife or just the site itself but it is great.

Marbled Whites were flying well from early on, and by 11am when we walked the first transect we recorded 31 individuals. 16 Large Blue’s were recorded and a further 16 were recorded on the 2pm transect. That is the most recorded this year, so I think we are entering the peak on numbers. Most of the individuals are still look fresh without damage or scale loss. It will be interesting to see what numbers do over the next couple of days.

It was very easy today to find egg laying females and track them as they moved across the hill, one female which was discovered by visitors stayed perched on a grass blade for over 2 hours, she was nick-named Lazy Lucy!! She did fly a little but only to a nearby grass blade where she perched again.

Lazy Lucy - Sarah Meredith

The Large Blues’s had their seista around 3pm today, just as I was leaving site at around 5.30pm they were starting to move again, nectaring on Thyme and flying amongst the scrub.

Clustered Bellflower’s are just starting to emerge and Ringlets are being picked up in small numbers. So all is good on the hill at the moment with Large Blue’s flying well and distributed across the site. If you visit I can guarantee you will have a really good day, some one asked if I could stop the wind from blowing so he could get a good photo!! Now I can definitely help you to see the Large Blue and tell you about their ecology and history but some things I just cannot do!! Sorry.

I look forward to seeing you at Collard over the coming days.

One thought on “Wednesday 23th June

  1. Love the blog! Keep up the good work. Very jealous!

    Huw

    http://stonemole.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

